Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2016, 07:35 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF#1867 , KC427
Not Ranked     
Default Nitto NT555R Usage

My car came with 17" wheels and it is time to get new tires. Our local roads are not exactly the smoothest and the 17"s are a bit bumpy for my liking. I have ridden and driven a car with 15"s and this is the way I would like to go. The question I have is more targeted at the proper application of tires. I am going to run 325/50/15 on the rear and 275/50/15 on the front. Is there any downside to running the Nitto NT555R on both the front and rear of the car? I drive the car aggressive related to acceleration but I am not overly aggressive in the turns. I have limited experience with tire selection and I wanted to stay away from putting different brands of tires and tread patterns on the front and rear wheels. I have looked into the Nitto summer tire that matches the NT555R but it was not available in a 15" size. The only other option I have come across is the MT Street ET Street R but it looks more like a dedicated drag tire and not something you would want to run on all 4 corners. Thanks for your help or any experience you can lend. Below are a few notes that directly relate to my use of the car.

*I drive year around

*I do not drive in the rain and I will not be making my tire selection related to any rain or damp conditions.

*I think Avon tires are the best but they are not an option so please refrain from telling me how great they are as I have experienced them first hand. I am vain and want to go with the wider tires in the rear this is primary reason I am not selecting Avons at this time.

*I have not opportunity to track the car. This is a 100% street car with a 427 Windsor power train
Old 07-18-2016, 03:12 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: 08 Mustang GT
Not Ranked