28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2015, 07:19 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Hydraulic clutch cylinder sizes?

folks, my apologies as I'm not trying to post multiple entries, but I think it's probably best I post one topic for each of the issues I'm having with my recent purchase (2003 SVC).

The clutch in the car is basically unworkable. The travel is extremely long (like starting at all the way at the top to pressing INTO the floor) to get complete disengagement. The pressure is EXTREMELY high, not stiff mind you, but a ridiculous amount of pressure required. The pressure is so high it appears to me the previous owner BOLTED the seats down against the rear compartment wall and then used 2" wooden blocks to actuate the clutch! (and brakes). That way it was like a recumbent bike. The back is against the rear compartment wall so the clutch could be pushed in.

I have a master clutch cylinder and a slave cylinder (Wilwood no less). the master clutch looks to be SVC ... The car has a steel bell housing / scatter shield of unknown brand. Tranny is Tremec T5. This combination isn't workable. I've read tons of posts about addressing hard/high pressure clutches and so want to see if this external arrangement can be made to work before moving to a hydraulic throw out bearing. (that seems to be the general consensus).

The motor I have is a mild 302 so it's not like I've got some HUGE big block making 600HP requiring a massive killer clutch.

1. What cylinder size are folks using for master clutch cylinder?
2. What cylinder size are folks using the slave clutch cylinder?
3. What pedal ratio are folks using?

Any suggestions are most appreciated.

thanks, DaveK from Maryland
Old 07-29-2015, 07:54 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: 66 COBRA FE 427 /4SP. (HCS Coupe w/ 408 Stroker and TKO 600 -sold)
Send a message via AIM to Clois Harlan
Not Ranked