Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2003, 10:20 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     
Question Cobra choice help wanted

Guys,

First, I apologize for the length of this posting, but I really could use some feedback. Thanks in advance.

I’ve been considering buying/building a Cobra for a while and it looks like I may be able to swing it sometime in the near future. As a typically anal engineer, I am involved in a comparative analysis of the various kits that are within my price target, that being under $30K for the completed car. Admittedly that narrows the field somewhat. Before I start with the questions, let me give you a little background. First, I intend to use the car primarily as a street driver, although I may do some autocrossing. I live in the Charleston, SC area, which can have some surprise showers that are real frog stranglers (downpours to you Yankees), so weather protection is a must. Also, the summers here can be brutal, so an effective A/C is almost as important. Ok, now for the questions:

1. Power steering versus non-power: Can PS be fitted along with A/C? Does it make the car too twitchy? If so, can proportioning valves resolve that? How heavy is it to drive around town without PS?

2. Underbody versus side exhaust: Does anyone have any experience with underbody exhaust? If so, what are the pro’s and con’s relative to side exhaust?

3. Carburetion versus fuel injection: Pro’s and con’s please.

4. ISR versus live axle: Is the addition of IRS worth the extra $2K that I’ve been told it costs? What problems with drive shaft binding have been seen on live axle cars?