14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2003, 09:02 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF 1649, Steel Gray with Silver stripes 427W/565hp stroker from Performance engineering
Not Ranked     
Default Aluminum bodies' strength

Could someone help in clarifying the strength of the aluminum bodies?

I have heard many times about how weak and vulnerable the aluminum bodies are to dents and the such. I have , however, seen a lot of archive pictures of the original cobras and many times the vehicles have a lot of the racers lean, stand and often seat on their cars' bodies. If they were so flimsy wouln't they avoid doing that to begin with. I have no personal experience in this matter and would like to have one of you guys with original ones or continuation or new series Shelbys to clarify this matter. Are they really that weak of bodies or is it just a prception and rumors started by people that have very little or no knowledge of the facts.

Please help clarify this matter.
Louisville, KY 40217

502-635-5711

juanlb@lbrllc.net
Old 08-30-2003, 09:14 AM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     

I've seen a lot of pictures of the race cars "back in the day" with plenty of dents too! One reason for that was: They WERE race cars, they had no idea one day they would be "icons", they just chopped, cut, welded or improvised with what ever they had to get the job done.

Ernie
Old 08-30-2003, 09:21 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF 1649, Steel Gray with Silver stripes 427W/565hp stroker from Performance engineering
Not Ranked     

I wonder if the aluminum bodies of today are stronger?

The aluminum bodies that Shelby is using today are they being fabricated by Kirkhams? And if so are they stronger?
Louisville, KY 40217

502-635-5711

juanlb@lbrllc.net
Old 08-30-2003, 09:40 AM
Senior Club Cobra Member