Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2004, 08:28 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Starting build soon
Not Ranked     
Question Getting started

Hi there, I'm very new to the Cobra Club website. I'm very impressed with all of your Cobra's. I'm looking at getting started on building one for myself. It's been one of those dreams to do this for quite sometime. I was quite over whelmed by everything I've seen here. I'm wondering if any of you can give me a push in the right direction. I've found a couple of sites that sell kits, but I need to know what not to do, and where not to go. I'm looking at this company called Factory Five, are they a repitable company.
Any help would be great.
Thanks Willie
Old 02-05-2004, 09:45 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: NAF replica, 351W, about 420 HP
Not Ranked     

Willie, some questions for YOU first!
1. How much can you spend?
2. How much work can you do?
3. What do you plan on doing with the car? Cruise, show, race, ?
4. How much time/space/effort can you spare?

"If you think that you can cut it, if you think you got the time, you'll only get just one chance, better get it right first time. 'Cause in this game you're playing, if you lose you got to pay, and if you make just one wrong move, you'll get BLOWN AWAY. Expect no mercy.
Old 02-06-2004, 03:52 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     

Edley,

These are all very good questions. I think the question in regards to the money has alot to do with what I want to do with the car. I plan is to use it for cruising. (for now anyway). I would love to race, how ever (dare I say it?) I'm really not sure my wife would let me.

How much work can I do? I'm very comfortable with doing it all but the Wiring, and paint.

Time, space and effort? I have nights, weekends and every stat holiday to spend on this. Space I have 1200 sq. ft. Effort, I always give a 110%.