28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 06:12 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Can a Cobra hang with Z06, GTR, GT3 on Track?

Newbie here. Shopping for a street car to to run on 3 or 4 track days per year. (NASA, HPDE, etc.)...not wheel to wheel. Drive to track, no trailer.

Will probably buy a BDR, if I go the Cobra route. I'd like to know from those of you who have tracked your cars whether a "streetable" Cobra can hang with the likes of fast track day cars such as the GT-R, Z06, Exige, or 911 Turbo/GT3. If I buy a BDR, it will likely be equipped with a Roush 427R or SR TW...possibly the new Ford Motorsports 427. DOT 17" racing tires. Maybe limited slip differential. "Big Brake" and other track oriented mods only if necessary. I intend to run at Northeastern tracks such as Lime Rock and Monticello.

I feel that the Cobras (and GT40s) look and sound far better than the above mentioned alternatives...with a trade off in terms of practicality. I do realize that the Cobra will be far more challenging to drive on a track compared to the other cars, especially the GT-R. By way of experience, I've done some Skip Barber and raced a shifter kart years ago. Thanks in advance for your responses.
Old 04-01-2010, 06:18 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Everett-Morrison LS1
Not Ranked     

Well if you raced the shifter kart on the big road racing tracks you will probably be disappointed with the performance of any of the mentioned cars as they will not get near the lap times a 125 shifter kart will turn
Old 04-01-2010, 06:32 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF 02345, Roush/Yates 358 Sprint Cup motor
Not Ranked