21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
Old 08-21-2012, 09:44 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Jerico 4 speed road race box.

Hi all, I'm after some feedback based on user experience...

Re: Downshifting a Jerico 4 speed box.

What I want to know is what works best? I understand that the BEST shift style is double clutch, heel toe and throttle blip under braking etc. Obviously this all needs to happen fast and at the right rpm speeds. I'm not a pro driver.

If this all can't be managed a regular change with throttle blip is nearly as good. I've been advised the faster the throw change the better.

I emailed Jerico in the USA and regarding the way they best recommend to downshift their boxes and their response was...

"Press in the clutch, and select the required gear."

That was it. One line. So I qualified their response by asking......

So Jerico, you're saying that I do not need to double clutch or blip throttle on down shift?

Response

"yes"

Their customer service for a reasonable question about their product was pretty poor.

I then rang their Australia Agent. Now there's a difference. The bloke spent 20 mins on the phone with me and said that at my next track event he'd drive down and come and have a look at what i was doing and he'd share his experience.

Based on that response alone I've booked the box in for strip down and refresh at the end of the season.

Anywho, tell me your experiences please.

Spookypt
Old 08-21-2012, 10:07 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Jerrico

Quote:
Originally Posted by spookypt View Post
Hi all, I'm after some feedback based on user experience...

Re: Downshifting a Jerico 4 speed box.

What I want to know is what works best? I understand that the BEST shift style is double clutch, heel toe and throttle blip under braking etc. Obviously this all needs to happen fast and at the right rpm speeds. I'm not a pro driver.