Club Cobra Gas - N Exhaust  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Manufacturers, Engine Builders, tools, and parts. > B & B Cobra's --- Speak with Bryan Anderson

MMG Superformance
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Keith Craft Racing
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
MMG Superformance
Keith Craft Racing
Keith Craft Racing
May 2024
S M T W T F S
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2011, 09:39 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: B&B
Not Ranked     
Default Low Airflow Thru Radiator

Hello,

I am new to being a Cobra owner and new to the forum. But I thought it would be a good idea to get some expert opinions on this.

My Cobra had a blown header gasket so I took it to a mechanic to get it fixed. While he was revving the engine to test the fixed gasket he overheated the car. I've got a manual switch for engaging the fan and he didn't check for this. It wasn't until he heard popping from the radiator that he realized the temperature problem and cooled it down.

Ever since this incident the gasket is fixed, but the car temperature shoots right up when I try to drive it. I took it back to this same mechanic since the overheating started with his repair job.

After trying the obvious replacement of the thermostat and verifying the accuracy of the temperature sensor with infrared, he came to the following conclusion. He believes that the overheating incident has caused the radiator tubes to expand to the point of blocking all airflow through the radiator. He verified that with a fan right against the radiator he could barely feel the airflow on the engine side.

Does this seem plausible to you guys? This is a 2.5 in Mustang II Griffin radiator. I am finding it hard to believe that a heavy duty radiator like this could be damaged so easily.
Old 09-21-2011, 02:02 AM
CC Member