26 27 28 29 30 31  

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2010, 03:43 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     
Default SB100 Sequence Number 2010499

As many of you know I have been passing smog tests with my cobra for the last 5 years. When I was renewing the registration in 2005, the sequence numbers were gone on January 2nd and I had my paperwork completed in April so instead of parking the car for 9 months I took it to BAR and smogged it. It has passed every time since, three times. This year I took it in and the State has changed the passing scores. In 2005 I needed a CO level of 5 something to pass but to my surprise this year the passing CO level was 1.16. It is impossible to lean out the carburetor to meet this standard. I was told by the smog guy that the state has lowered all of the emission values in order to remove old cars from the road. I had to call Sacramento twice, go to DMV twice and much to my amazement there is still a sequence number left for 2010.

Any way no more smog tests for me and there is still one number left. If you have a 70's or 80's car that needs to be smogged, be aware that it is a whole new world in California and pretty soon it'll be impossible to meet the requirements.

Dave V
Old 12-15-2010, 05:02 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Superformance
Not Ranked     

So they make rules stating cars have to meet emissions requirements that were not in effect when the car was made? Never heard of that before. Must be new. Hope it doesn't catch on.

Jack
Old 12-15-2010, 07:04 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Midstates (2001)
Not Ranked     

Thas been happening ever since they started the whole smog check mess....
SB-100 baby the only way to go....
Old 12-15-2010, 07:47 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: ERA 289 FIA #2108
Not Ranked     

Congradulations on the SB-100---especially this late in the year.

DD