Club Cobra Keith Craft Motorsports  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Manufacturers, Engine Builders, tools, and parts. > Contemporary Classic Forums

Nevada Classics
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
Keith Craft Racing
MMG Superformance
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
Keith Craft Racing
MMG Superformance
April 2024
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2010, 09:30 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default torsion vs coil over front end

Hi, newbie here to the forum. I have an opportunity to purchase a contemporary frame with HD torsion front end, is it a huge difference in handling compared to the newer coil over design?
Thanks,
Daniel
Old 06-21-2010, 11:42 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: BDR #455, KC427W, TWM-FI
Not Ranked     

Yes there is a difference coil overs are better for turns.
Old 06-22-2010, 03:24 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     
Default What are you looking to do with the car??

Danielg Dan if you are looking for a street car and a smoother ride on long drives torsion bars are better. This being that the shocks are the same. There is not alot of adjustment to the bars without changing them if you are looking for better handling. Coil springs and shocks are more adjustable for height, dampening, rebound, easier to change spring rates, and cheaper to. If you are looking for track car, coil over is a better setup IMO Rick L. Ps it will also be easier to get parts for coil over setup than torsion bar for your car. This is something you want to look into first, getting parts that contemp is now gone as a builder company.

Last edited by RICK LAKE; 06-22-2010 at 03:26 AM..
Old 06-22-2010, 04:21 AM
Senior Club Cobra Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: CSX 4772 old iron FE
Not Ranked