Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2016, 03:27 AM
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Newbie Needs Guidance

Hello all-

Confession...I am a AC Cobra rookie. Go easy on me.

I live in "poor man's" Lake Geneva(Lauderdale Lakes, WI). I am going to be purchasing a used AC Cobra replica before May of 2017. HOWEVER, need to the cost to "get through committee" (my wife) with as little pain as possible. I don't want to jump on a plane and fly to rural Arizona and get stuck with a lemon. Would like to purchase locally and keep the cost to under $20k. Doesn't need to be a 427, virtually indifferent on color(prefer guardsman's blue), willing to buy a higher mileage car if it has been well-maintained, obviously don't want anything that leaks oil or has any other mechanical defects. Don't want anything that has been spent its life on a track or wrecked. Prefer to purchase from original owner/builder. I do have a friend that is an engineer and has built an AC Cobra (I will be bringing him "in tow" - pun intended) to review the car.

Anyone know of someone looking to sell their Cobra in the Greater Chicagoland/WI area?

Thanks-

Dave
Old 12-03-2016, 05:28 AM
Half-Ass Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: ERA #732, 428FE (447 CID), TKO600, Solid Flat Tappet Cam, Tons of Aluminum
Not Ranked     

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gee View Post
I am going to be purchasing a used AC Cobra replica before May of 2017. HOWEVER, need to the cost to "get through committee" (my wife) with as little pain as possible. I don't want to ... get stuck with a lemon. Would like to purchase locally and keep the cost to under $20k.
Dave, I got news for you... anything under twenty grand is going to be a POS lemon. Do yourself a favor and save your money and revisit the issue in a few years.
Dwight likes this.
Old 12-03-2016, 06:51 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: SPF MKII Riverside Racer FIA
Not Ranked