Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2010, 10:53 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     
Default Newbie picking a kit. Good/Bad/Awful

Thinking about purchasing a used (ready to drive) Cobra but I'm very new to all the different kits. Some seem to have a nice, fat, flared quarter panel/rear tire area, and some seem kind of narrow/flat. For instance, look at the difference between the red cobra and the blue cobra in the "CLUB COBRA" icon in the top left corner of the page. I love the back end flare of the blue one... while the red seems less flared. So, which kits are going to give me what I'm looking for and which kits should I really stay away from? I'm familiar with Superperformance and Factory Five, but thats the extent of things. I would like to spend $30K or less for a used (complete) one. I have nice 69 Camaro and I've thought about trading or selling it.

Last edited by STM1969; 09-02-2010 at 11:02 AM..
Old 09-02-2010, 11:03 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     

I would call around a bit and listen to what they're telling you, carefully. There will be a big difference between some paid salesman who knows little to nothing about what he's SELLING and the guy who is telling you ABOUT the kit. It will be fairly easy to rule out certain companies. Then all you have to decide is which manufacturer to go with. So far , Hurricane is my front runner but I'm still looking,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Old 09-02-2010, 12:03 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: Midstates, 460
Not Ranked     

I think that the flair of my Midstates is just about right but since it is such a personal decision I would say that you just have to check out as many as possible. What area are you in? There are cruises and shows that have a variety of examples. If you are in the Denver area I can give you a few pointers on who to talk to or where you can see the most diversity.

Brandon