Club Cobra GasN Exhaust  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Engine Building, Tuning, and Induction > 429/460 Engine Talk

MMG Superformance
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
MMG Superformance
April 2024
S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

Kirkham Motorsports

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-04-2011, 10:11 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: West Coast Cobra, 460 c.i.
Not Ranked     
Default Tuning a Demon Carb

Looking for some advice. I just purchased a 2007 West Coast Cobra with a 460 Ford Racing Crate Engine. It has a big old Demon Carb (not sure of the part number) on top of it and I have a feeling that its running a bit too rich. It hesitates at times under acceleration. I'm a bit new to the carb thing as I've only really worked on EFI stuff before.
Question that I have is are there any quick tips you guys can give to set this thing up properly or what to look for. Or is this something that needs to be brought to someone who knows what they're doing to tune it properly.
Thanks in advance.
Old 06-04-2011, 10:50 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine:
Not Ranked     

Engine timing is critical with all Demon carbs. They do not work at your typical 12 deg advance. They must see a minimum 18deg to function, they require that much.
I have them on two cars and love them, I hated them at first because they hesitated etc. I locked out the timing full advance using a start retard msd for easy cranking. works flawles and the engine response is crazy.