Club Cobra Gas - N Exhaust  

Go Back   Club Cobra > Manufacturers, Engine Builders, tools, and parts. > B & B Cobra's --- Speak with Bryan Anderson

Nevada Classics
MMG Superformance
Main Menu
Module Jump:
Nevada Classics
Nevada Classics
Keith Craft Racing
Advertise at CC
Banner Ad Rates
Keith Craft Racing
MMG Superformance
March 2024
S M T W T F S
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Old 05-10-2009, 03:33 PM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: 66 Cobra
Not Ranked     
Default Posi Rear Ends

Shortly I will have to order the Posi differential for my Ford 9". Over the years I have had both friction disc type and a Detroit Truetrac. The Truetrac was really purchased due to it's outstanding performance in the snow. Recently, I have heard that some guys are putting the Truetrac in their Cobras. Let me be clear I am not talking about lockers for a Cobra but just limited slip differentials. I have no experience with the performance of either of these in a light Cobra car. My experience has been on trucks.

Friction Disc or Cone Type
The friction type for the most part puts equal presure to each axle until one of the axles overcomes the force of the springs and discs. Once that force is overcome it allows the wheels to turn at different speeds for like going around corners. These have a long standing track record, but do wear out over time. This type usually needs a friction modifier added to the gear oil for smooth operation.

Detroit Truetrac