24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Kirkham Motorsports

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2020, 08:32 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Not Ranked     
Default Evans Waterless Coolant Superformance?

Anyone have experience purging the coolant system in preparation for running this stuff? Specifically a spf with a windsor? It’s intriguing as it runs NO pressure!

Thanks
Steve H
Old 08-01-2020, 09:39 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: A&C 67 427 cobra SB
Not Ranked     

I have no experience, but I have read that no amount of water or glycol can be mixed with Evans. You can never drain all the water from an engine coolant system.

I would think that Evans would have instructions on how to do this, but if not... My guess would be that you need to flush the water with something that will absorb water and will easily evaporate. Alcohol would be my choice. It will absorb water, it cleans well, and it evaporates. It might take a couple of flushes. I expect you have to make sure the alcohol has evaporated, as it could be a bad thing to mix into Evans. Flushing some Evans through may be necessary. I know it is expensive.

Those are my thoughts for you to consider and make your own decisions. They are not instructions. I am an ignorant hill billy at heart and should not be misconstrued as some type of knowledgeable person you can trust. Any actions you take are your own responsibility and at your own risk.
Old 08-01-2020, 09:49 AM
CC Member
Visit my Photo Gallery

Cobra Make, Engine: ERA #2119 289FIA
Not Ranked     

Steve, I used Evans and was totally happy with it, except the price. I had furious overheating after boring my RAT out to .070 from .060. Did everything I could think of and everything others suggested. Even to the point of taking the water pump apart to see if perhaps the impeller was slipping on the shaft.